Well, there’s your problem!

This also happened the day known as “black saturday” (the day I killed my laser). I was about to machine an adapter for the 3mm motor shaft, when the lathe refused to start. More correctly, the safety power button refused to latch, as if I didn’t had enough headache.

Without much thinking, I dismantled the control panel and got personal with that switch, and this is what I found:

108a - Lathe
Heavily eroded contacts that get hot when switching, so they fuse to the plastic piece, and somehow mess with the latch coil (voltage drop maybe?).

Some filing later:

108c - Lathe
I’ll probably dismantle it again and give the contacts a thick copper plating, because I can’t go on with just filing when the contacts get damaged.

Leave a Reply

