SkyFall

This is the end
Hold your breath and count to ten
Feel the earth move and then
Hear my heart burst again

IMG-20150918-WA0008

For this is the end
I’ve drowned and dreamt this moment
So overdue I owe them
Swept away, I’m stolen

IMG-20150918-WA0009

Let the sky fall
When it crumbles
We will stand tall
Face it all together

IMG-20150918-WA0010

Let the sky fall
When it crumbles
We will stand tall
Face it all together
At skyfall
That skyfall

IMG-20150918-WA0007

Skyfall is where we start
A thousand miles and poles apart
Where worlds collide and days are dark
You may have my number, you can take my name
But you’ll never have my heart

IMG-20150918-WA0006

Let the sky fall (let the sky fall)
When it crumbles (when it crumbles)
We will stand tall (we will stand tall)
Face it all together

IMG-20150918-WA0011

Let the sky fall (let the sky fall)
When it crumbles (when it crumbles)
We will stand tall (we will stand tall)
Face it all together
At skyfall
[…]

This is the end…

Or…is it not?

A story ends…a new stage begins…

I will soon be moved off from production to become a SMD machinist. I’ll be heading towards controlling not one but three SMT assembly lines. I have no fear in me from long workdays and odd hours, but I keep wondering what will happen to me. Will anything from the old me remain when the training is over and I’m on my own?

As said, I have no fear, but I do contemplate the fact that I might burn up quickly. I’m not sure my bosses take that into account.

I haven’t chosen the song lightly either. When it says we will “face it all together”, it’s because as long as I’m able, I am going to keep a journal, both in video and text, of what it is to become a machinist, what do you do, what do you learn, and if I burn up, you’ll see my fall.

On the other hand, I wonder if my new boss fully understands what he’s got with me. He hasn’t done any interviews, as I have been just hand picked. He barely knows me, just that I like machines, machining, electronics and stuff…but that I also don’t see my bosses as superiors but as equals.

If I see something wrong, I say so. I will always spoke my mind. I will also work more like a robot than a human (I don’t drink coffee, I don’t smoke, so I don’t loose time in nonsense. I like efficiency above everything else, and I don’t waste my time at work, or if I do it, it is in a fully approved way by the A.S. Enrichment Center).

It is interesting because I am going to apropriately meet him in a road trip across the country to get the machines. I don’t know if sitting in a car for 10 hours with your future boss is the best way of being introduced to someone.

Also, he doesn’t know that this is a reverse job interview. He doesn’t have to like me as a worker, I have to like him as a boss, otherwise I’ll pass the offer along to the next coworker who is adequate for the job. I’m not sure either where this self assurance comes. I know the job must meet some basics like let me play around, document things, carry my bag-o-tools, mount my own boards, use the tools for my personal projects, etc…plus some extras I plan to add to better fit the job timetable to my needs. Basically I don’t especially need more money (altough I could use it for something, sure.) and I don’t need being stressed, yelled, forced to overtime and work outside a normal job envelope. And since I don’t need that, I feel free to say no if all that doesn’t come with a set of bonuses and benefits as big as a mountain, apart from the money, I mean.

Of course there are still posts to be written (and some drafts to be published too) about the laser, the CNC router and if I ever finish the 3D printer, that too.

Because of too much KSP, I just feel like going too fast in a reentry…

2 responses to “SkyFall

  1. Usually I just follow your work on facebook because it’s convenient.. But then I chekc you your blog and keep getting fascinated by your work.
    I really do hope you like your new job and don’t get burned out or in any other way limited. On the other hand you could always make a living machining stuff ;)

    Congratulations :)

    • Thanks for the support!

      It looks promising, so I have high hopes of enjoying it as much as I do with the actual. If everything goes acording to plan, I am preparing a huge, HUGE, (and awesome) brother blog. The beta name is “All the electronVolts” and I won’t tell you what will feature, but keep checking, you might like it. ^^

Leave a Reply

