The art of packaging (VI): Dishware

So, we had to send some disc shaped boards full of sensitive leds. Using conventional bubble wrap bags was out of the question because the boards have protruding faston connectors, and the manager was pondering a solution for a while. This, then, was my moment to shine bright like a pulsar (you thought diamond, did you?).

Some time ago, I tried to push for a simple box packaging that would hold the boards in place using nothing but the rack-like foams I cut with the Guitar Hero. My manager allowed me to do one proof of concept:

20151002_070136

What happened next, was 33% faith, 33% self confidence and 34% luck:

So, I showed the manager and the sales rep the box with three boards in it. (spacers have been hot glued). They were unsure about it, so, with the box opening pointing towards them, I started to shake the box vigorously side to side and up and down, and the boards didn’t even nottice. But still they weren’t convinced, so, without a second thought, I let the box point downward (wide open) and started to shake it vertically like there was no tomorrow. Yup, that sold the idea to them without further questioning.

The luck part? Well, once I got back to my table with the box, the boards had slided a bit, so had I shaked it some more, they might have fallen off. ^^U!

But they didn’t, so, I won.

20151002_074840

Now add some foam on top so the boards can’t move at all (even if you didn’t add it, the boards can’t move enough to slide off their mounts)

20151002_074905

20151002_074855

And off they go!

Leave a Reply

