Intermission: Technically dreaming.

Every now and then, when my city has big festivities, police/press helicopters roam around, mainly for crowd control. This evening I went to take a long nap while the city was having fun. (having a cold, weird sleep timetables are allowed):

The night was almost pitch black, there was this helicopter flying low around my neighbourhood. At some point, it’s sound becomes a roar, and I realize it is hovering just between my buildng and the next, as if checking something. I jump out of the bed to the balcony, because (and this is true) I haven’t seen a helicopter “up close” (i.e. less than 20 meters) since I was 8. As I am watching it hover, it starts to slowly fly backwards.

Before continuing, you need this little bit of info:  Both buildings at my balcony height (5th floor), are like 20 meters away, thight space for a helicopter, but doable. Also,In the building next to mine, there has always been a cable that runs, diagonally, all the way from top to bottom of the wall. Don’t know what it is, or what it does, but it’s been there for as long as I can remember.

So, while the helicopter is backing away, I just see that it is going to snag the cable…it starts tangling more and more into the rotor hub, toy-like, hindering it’s flying capability as seconds pass. At a certain point, I try to protect myself behind a wall, but still, parts of the rotor manage to strike my arm. However, I am not injured. Once the crash is over, I just go down the stairs to see the wreck.

I am NOT surprised to see a military-ish person poking around the remains. He is removing sensitive electronics from the wreck. They all lie in the ground as a big pile of boards connected to other boards with PCI-slots, pins and smaller connectors, much like a fractal pile of electronics.

At that point, I decide that I am going to remove the turbine and take it home. The “pilot” asks me what am I going to do with it, but I don’t know, I’m not sure I have the equipment to start or run it. Funny thing, I am carrying the turbine in my arms, like a pillow, as if the smallest helicopter turbine doesn’t weigh 200+Kg…He states it is military, someone might be looking for it, and I say that if someone asks, I’ll give it back, otherwise I’ll keep it.

I am having quite weird dreams lately, not sure why. I will probably make a series if they continue displaying any technical aspect, like the fractal-connected boards.

Also, just in case you’re wondering what happens when a helicopter snags a cable:

And we think humans are fragile…

Note that there is no fire or explosion and the turbine keeps running (NOT slowing down) for some seconds after the crash.

And also, I got sidetracked while looking if the wop-wop of the helicopter blades has a name, and found this interesting post I’d like to share.

And now? Time to continue modifying the laser…(Since I have to install a new tube, I’m changing quite a few things: Machining the ball bearing carrier to extend cutting area by 1cm, change chain carrier for the X axis, because the convoluted one I had before, it’s always in the way to put new pieces in. Made some great adjustable standofs, but I changed my mind again and will make them even better, stay tuned for all those changes)

2 responses to “Intermission: Technically dreaming.

  1. Nixie! I’ve lurked on your site for a while and have found it super interesting. Figured it was about time to comment as I saw your laser post and recently acquired an old medical zappy-ma-jig of my own. Where’s yours at? Functioning? Cutting? Attached to sharks?

    On the technically dreaming side of things, I once worked in telecommunications with a guy who had recently bought an LCD screen (back when they were a new tech). He had a few dead pixels out of the box, right in the middle of the screen, but not enough to qualify for an RMA. He went home that night (obviously quite upset) but dreampt a strange thing. In the morning he woke up and, as in the dream, turned his monitor off. Pressing (more firmly than one should) on the space where the hateful dead pixels had sat, he powered it back on and released them into the light. After a short while the liquid crystal liquided (its a word now) its way back and there before him stood a perfectly functioning monitor. I’ve always remembered him as the pixel prophet. There’s a lot to be found for those who are technically dreaming. :)

    • So, it was you the one who was throwing around the view counts lately, was it? XD

      Now that you mention it, I think I have never had any invention/solution in dreams…
      As for the laser, I tried to power it up with a potato-tortilla (the spanish way), but unfortunately I forgot to add a proper vegetable ballast, and the heat inside the tortilla due to the uncontrolled current flow turned it into some kind of fried potato mashup. It is clear now that I have to wait for you to further develop the Botato Patery, and then proceed to copy it.

      XD, jokes apart, I broke the last laser tube on October 2nd, and have been dragging my heels on repairing it. I won’t connect it until I have properly made a waterflow sensor (resin is setting over the reed sensors at the time of this response) so I might have it working soon. If you’re still lurking by then, you’ll see new posts.

      I haven’t seen any posts about your new toy, what are you waiting for? XD

Leave a Reply

